The fourth round (Round of 16) of the 2023 Hana OneQ FA Cup has concluded without any upsets. The fifth round (quarterfinals) will feature eight clubs from the K League 1.

Defending champions Jeonbuk Hyundai defeated Paju Min Football Club 5-2 at Jeonju World Cup Stadium. Gustavo scored a brace in regulation time, but Paju responded with back-to-back goals from Kwak Rae-seung and Sung Jung-yoon, forcing the game into extra time. Gustavo, who was at the peak of his powers, scored 13 minutes into the first overtime and 9 minutes into the second overtime to complete a ‘pot-trick’. Even Park Jin-seop rattled the net in the fifth minute of the second half of the extra time to secure a hard-fought victory 먹튀검증.

The ‘K League 1 Champions’ Ulsan Hyundai also earned a 2-1 victory over the Jeonnam Dragons at the Gwangyang Football Stadium. Hyundai faced elimination after conceding an early goal to Hanam in the 18th minute of the second half, but a theater goal came just before the end of the game. In the 45th minute, Im Jong-soo equalized to send the match into extra time, and two minutes into the overtime period, Martin Adam scored the winner to advance to the quarterfinals.

Daegu FC lost 0-1 to Suwon Samsung at Suwon World Cup Stadium. An early goal from Kim Joo-chan proved costly. Sejingya, Go Jae-hyun, and Edgar came on as substitutes in the remaining minutes, but to no avail. Daejeon Hana Citizens also lost 3-4 to Jeju United at Jeju World Cup Stadium. Massa, Leandro, and Byun Jun-soo scored in quick succession, but were held back by an own goal. Daegu and Daejeon were the only K League 1 clubs to fail.

Not all K League 2 clubs survived either. Gyeongnam FC lost 0-3 to Incheon United at the Incheon Football Stadium. Seongnam FC fell to a 0-3 defeat to Pohang Steelers at Tancheon Sports Complex. Gimpo FC lost 2-3 to Gangwon FC at Gimpo Solter Soccer Field. Seoul Eland FC was eliminated after falling 0-1 to Gwangju FC at Mokdong Sports Complex.

The quarterfinals of the Hana OneQ FA Cup 2023 are now complete. Incheon and Suwon, Ulsan and Jeju, Pohang and Gangwon, and Jeonbuk and Gwangju will meet. The eight clubs will face off on Wednesday, June 28 at 7 p.m. for a spot in the semifinals. The draw for the sixth round (quarterfinals) will be made by the Korea Football Association (KFA) at a later date.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *